Halloween 2013: Glasgow Smile/ The Joker

Happy Friday The 13th to you all!!!
This is by far my favorite time of the year. I prefer cold weather, so when fall breaks and you get that crisp scent in the air that reminds you of Halloween I get excited. (is it just me that can smell fall?) I’m going to try to get a least 4 looks out this year, being my frist year as a blogger and all. Enjoy!

I have seen this going around a lot lately, and I felt the need to give it a go, and it looks awful once the sun goes down, I sat outside and waited for my boys to come back from football. My son was confused! So if you are planning on handing out candy and you enjoy making little kids cry, this is for you! >:)
GlasgowJoker products
For this I used tissues, (separated and torn into strips) watered down Elmers Glue, a cheap makeup sponge, small scissors, foundation, concealer, powder, and eyeshadow. I only used one tissue, but mine were 3 ply so I ended up with 3 pieces once I separated it.
Layers
Start adding strips and laying down glue until you are happy with the thickness, drying between each couple of layers with a hair dryer makes things go faster. Be sure to spread the glue out past the tissue to get a more realistic transition to your real skin.

The smoother the layers, the easily they will blend into you actual skin, and look more realistic. (if you click and zoom in on the pictures, you can see where I didn’t get them as smooth as I could have, Avoid doing that)

Then cut it open, CAREFULLY with a tiny pair of eyebrow scissors. Once you get between your face and the tissue its easy. Peel and warp the flaps until it looks how you want it.

100D310045
Foundation your face and your new wound carefully. Powder
Fill in the cut with red, black, brown, blue,… depending on what you want this to look like. It doesn’t really matter. I just put eyeshadow in it until it looked dark and kind of gross. I don’t have fake blood or any special effects blood, so I mixed red and blue eyeshadow into petroleum jelly and stuck it inside the cut.
This glossed up the colors and gave a congealed effect.

Cheap: YES
Effective: YES
Easy To Do: YES

This took me about an hour with dry time.

Below is a bit of extra reading:

Glasgow Smile:
A Glasgow smile (also known as a Glasgow grin, or Cheshire grin), called by people in Scotland a Glesga smile, is a wound caused by making small cuts on the corners of a victim’s mouth, then beating or stabbing him/her until the muscles in the face contract, causing the cuts to extend up the cheeks to the victim’s ears. This leaves a scar in the shape of a smile, hence the name.
This form of torture, usually performed with a utility knife or a piece of broken glass, leaves a scar which causes the victim to appear to be smiling broadly and commonly leads to death by exsanguination (blood loss) if left untreated.
The practice is said to have originated in Glasgow, Scotland, but became popular with English street gangs (especially among the Chelsea Headhunters, a London-based hooligan firm, where it is known as a “Chelsea grin” or “Chelsea smile”)

The Joker:
The Joker is a fictional character, a comic book supervillain appearing in publications by DC Comics, as the archenemy of the superhero Batman. As one of the most iconic and recognized villains in popular media, the Joker was ranked #1 on Wizard’s list of the 100 Greatest Villains of All Time. He was also named #2 on IGN’s list of the Top 100 Comic Book Villains of All Time List.

5 thoughts on “Halloween 2013: Glasgow Smile/ The Joker

    • It really was easy to do, I could have done a few things differently to make it look more real! Super easy. The high here tomorrow is only 72.. I’m super excited about that!

Leave a Reply

