No7 Beautiful Skin Night Cream Review

Reviews

I was very excited to discover Boots No 7, a U.K. Drugstore brand, at my local Target. It was in the skin care section, which is probably why I hadn’t found it sooner. Either way, I picked up their Beautiful Skin Night Cream for Normal/Dry skin.

No7

I have Light/Medium skin, more medium in the summer. I have dry skin so my base products don’t like to sit on my skin in a way that doesn’t piss me off! More often than not, I just don’t wear a base.

I recall someone telling me when I was younger NOT to moisturize my face, that it would make me greasy. Today at almost 30 I am super pissed that I have only been doing it for a few years, once I realized that I was COMPLETELY uneducated about the health of my face and skin.   With that said, I am always on the lookout for a day or night cream that is going to make my skin feel and look good, that I can afford to buy more than once a year if I need to, and that has what I need.

Below is some information about what is in this product, and what it means for us with dry skin, followed by my review.

The second (after water) ingredient in this product is Glycerin, which is a natural humectant.

humectant /hjuːˈmɛktənt/ is a substance that is used to keep things moist. It is the opposite of a desiccant, whose purpose is to keep things dry.

The third is Butyrospermum parkii (Shea butter), a  natural oil that is used as an emollient and a barrier against environmental stimuli so that the skin has time to repair itself.

An emollient / e·mol·lient /  has softening or relaxing properties. As a medicinal substance; soothing, especially to the skin.

The rest of the list is full of binders, stabilizers, and viscosity increasing agents. Also in lower amounts are Cocoa Butter, Rose Hip Oil, and forms of Vitamin C all mixed in with the scary chemical names. Most of which are other emollients and moisturizers.

Others are things that are like “Whoa wtf is this shit”:

Potassium Hydroxide:  It has many industrial and niche applications; most applications exploit its reactivity toward acids and its corrosive nature. One of its other uses is hair removal in men’s products. Pre shave balms and such. It causes damage to the hair shafts and forces the hair cuticle open to make it easier to cut!  It is used in cosmetics to control PH, it is 4th from the bottom which means its amount is very low.

The whole list of ingredients are as follows:

Aqua (Water), Glycerin, Butyrospermum parkii (Shea butter), Isostearyl isostearate, Sorbitan stearate, Cetearyl alcohol, Theobroma cacao (Cocoa) seed butter, Dimethicone, Ammonium acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP copolymer, Phenoxyethanol, Tocopheryl acetate, Rosa moschata seed oil, Methylparaben, Sucrose cocoate, Parfum (Fragrance), Dimethiconol, Sodium PCA, Xanthan gum, Potassium cetyl phosphate, Ethylparaben, Ascorbyl glucoside, Tetrasodium EDTA, Magnesium PCA, T-butyl alcohol, Citric acid, Dipropylene glycol, Zinc PCA, Biosaccharide gum-1, Potassium hydroxide, Manganese PCA, Potassium sorbate, Ascorbyl palmitate.

DRUM-ROLL PLEASE…..

Finally the Review! (I am writing this review over an extended period of time)

After 4 days of use :  I am in love, smells great, and feels amazing. It goes on thick and creamy like an expensive face cream. Reminds me of a Benefit one I used last summer. It doesn’t feel thick or tacky on my face once it’s rubbed in.

It is summer right now (june) so the fact that I don’t have dry patches on my face could be because of that. Even so… my face feels great. I haven’t noticed any patches of nasty, scabby, dry skin issues.

After 9 days of use: My skin still feels really great. I haven’t had any dryness, which could still be attributed to it being summer! I do have 3 blemishes on my forehead. Not sure if they are from this cream or what.

After 2.5 weeks of use: Skin still feels amazing, I don’t use a whole lot when I apply, a little really goes a long way with this stuff. No more blemishes have popped up since the first 3 I had before.

After 6 weeks of use: I do not use this every night, as my skin is not needing as much help anymore. I use this on nights when I have used a scrub or exfoliator. I don’t use much of it at all. It is really smooth so a little goes a long way. I am having some hair-line breakouts lately, but I recently had some bangs cuts so I’m sure that is why.  I really like this stuff, but the true test will be in the winter when my skin wants to be super dry.

I usually have dry patches on my forehead all year that get exaggerated when I put on my base, I haven’t had any of that since I started using this at least once a week. Keep and eye out for this one to pop up in a few Monthly Favorites in the winter.

 

One thought on “No7 Beautiful Skin Night Cream Review

Leave a Reply

