Review: MAC Mineralize Charged Water Face And Body Lotion

Reviews

 ** Warning, this is a long post with a breakdown of ingredients! **

I purchased this product because my MAC girl used it on me and it felt great. It absorbed into my skin fast and left no heavy feeling, so I was sold right there. I hate the feeling of thick greasy products on my face. I’ve been using it for a few weeks now, but only on my face. At $32.00 for 3.4 oz, you can bet your ass I wont be using it as a body lotion. : /

The box is gorgeous, and I don’t want to throw it out. I was sad to find the bottle was not quite as pretty!
100D310089
It has a mid range thickness to it, it’s not runny, but it’s not thick either. Goes on smooth and soft, absorbs fast and leaves my skin feeling super silky. As far as my skin goes, I love this stuff. It doesn’t break me out, doesn’t cause any excess redness, and no adverse feelings when I apply it. For just face use, I feel like this is a great deal. Like I said above, it just costs too much to be used on the body… for me!

I do mix a bit of this into my ABCDEFG creams and it works really well for me. No flakes, no dry patches when I put my base on. So yeah, I’m kinda in love with this stuff!
100D310088
There is no SPF in this product, so you will have to get your sun protection somewhere else. This doesn’t bother me, because I can use this whenever I want. I don’t use SPF products if I’m home for the day, or at night. I like that this product is an option at all times.

The smell is a little soapy and medicinal. As quoted by my husband, “More herbal, less pharmaceutical.”It sort of smells like Fix +, but the smell doesn’t linger long.

Now, to address the Charged Water thing!

What is “Charged” water?
Charged, in this context means ionized. To ionize water, they put it through electrolysis.

What is Electrolysis?
Electrolysis is the passage of a direct electric current through an ionic substance that is either molten or dissolved in a suitable solvent, resulting in chemical reactions at the electrodes and separation of materials.

So, to make Charged Water, they ionize it with electrolysis. They separate the water molecule, and then put it back together. Water is water is water is water… it just is. Apparently this process can lower the PH of the water to make it more alkaline, which it the new health craze right now. I will let you guys Google that, and read all about “drinking” Ionized Water.

So for the purposes of this post, the whole Charged Water part is pure marketing speak.
I guess technically you are getting molested water. So that’s something! >:)

The instructions say to keep entirely away from eye area, this is because two of the ingredients are listed as possible eye irritants! So don’t use it on your eyes please!

Below is the ingredient list, with notations made by me with what they are, and what they do in this product. This information was sourced from Ewg.org/skindeep. <– Click to vist their site!

Ingredients: see green notations for more info
Water (plain), Butylene Glycol (skin conditioner, fragrance), Dimethicone (anti foaming, skin conditioner), Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil (antioxidant, fragrance, skin conditioner), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Cetyl Ethylhexanoate (skin conditioner, emollient), Glyceryl Stearate (surfactant: Helps oil and water be friends), Cetyl Alcohol (opacifier, thickening agent), PEG-100 Stearate (surfactant, cleansing agent), Octyldodecanol (fragrance, skin conditioner), Ethylhexyl Hydroxystearate (skin conditioning agent), Glyceryl Polymethacrylate (viscosity control: thickness), Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate (antioxidant, skin conditioner), Sodium Hyaluronate (naturally found in joints, eye and skin. Anti aging treatment, promotes fullness), Panthenol (skin conditioner, antistatic, hair conditioner. Plant, or animal derived form of vitamin B5), Astrocaryum Murumuru Seed Butter (skin conditioner), Caffeine (antioxidant), Phenyl Trimethicone (anti foaming, skin conditioner), Bisabolol (scent ingredient naturally occurring in camomile, skin conditioning agent, soothing), Caprylyl Glycol (skin conditioner), Hexylene Glycol (fragrance, skin conditioner), Polysorbate 60 (fragrance, skin conditioner, surfactant) , Sorbitan Palmitate (surfactant), Xanthan Gum (thickening and stabilizing agent), Carbomer (stabilizer), Potassium Carbomer (stabilizer), Diamond Powder, Stearic Acid (fatty acid that can be derived from animals, fragrance, surfactant, cleansing agent), Disodium EDTA (viscosity control: thickness), Phenoxyethanol (fragrance, preservative), Sodium Dehydroacetate (antimicrobial preservative)

Don’t forget to check me out on Facebook! 

Leave a Reply

