Review: Star Crushed Minerals Eyeshadow

Glitter, Makeup, Reviews

Happy Thanksgiving to those of you celebrating, if not happy Thursday to you! ❤

I found my way to this Etsy shop because of the lovely Etta from Etta’s Threads! <–click to visit her! SCM was born in California as a healthy, natural alternative to big name brands. This shop has mineral foundation, blush, eyeshadow and nail lacquer! Click here to be taken to the Star Crushed Minerals Etsy Shop!

stars

I decided to give some of the eyeshadow a try during a sale. I grabbed 13 color samples, ranging from nudes to bright green and red! Can we just have a moment for how cute the star confetti is that was in my packaging? A great personal touch that you don’t get in mass-produced products! ❤

The full size versions are 1g and are $5.00. Sample sizes of the eyeshadow are .5g for $2.50 (unless you catch an awesome sale like I did).  I think the size and price point are wonderful. I don’t like to spend money on a huge jar of something I might forget to use, or get tired of the color. Smaller sizes, at a great price mean I have room to play, try other colors, try one of everything in the shop! I did leave a note on my order, which the shop owner acknowledged and got in contact with me about. She was more than helpful and very sweet. Lets see you get this kind of service out of the makeup giants?!

packaging jar
Above are the jars my order came in. I order sample sizes and they came in full size jars with screw tops and shaker lids. Brand name sticker on the top, and a sticker with full product information on the bottom!

names
When I picked out my colors, I wanted to get a good range to try out. I knew I wanted some nude colors, but also some loud colors. I am happy with my choices and can’t wait to try more colors. I swatched them all the day they came in and was blown away.  Below are the photos of my swatches. These pictures are right out of my camera. They are not edited in any way, I didn’t even crop. I added the names in text and that’s it! They were taken in natural light at my window. I swatched them with my finger, on my clean arm. No primer, no base… just my arm!

Swatch no flash
Below is the same swatch with flash on!
swatch flash
Can we just take a moment and drool over how GORGEOUS these are? They are super pigmented, and they make me want to run out and be in flash photography. I pulled the flash swatch out of my camera and could have died, so beautiful. I love glitter and shimmer.. I am such a crow. These are the perfect amount of glitter without being overwhelming.

The first look I did with these shadows was red brows, and I was super excited that Candy Apple Red, when applied on my dark brows is a perfect match to my hair! I mixed it with my Illamasqua Sealing Gel and ….boom!

I applied Iced Mocha in my crease, with Perfectly Peach on my lid, I put them on top of Urban Decay Primer Potion. I mixed Rockstar with the Sealing Gel as well, and used it as liner.

redgreen

The same afternoon I did the Candy Apple Red brows, I removed the first look (except the brows) and went in with the Apple Martini green. It was very bright. I had a picture but I forgot to save it before I formatted the card, so I lost it. 😦

The next day I wore a double stacked liner with Apple Martini and Rockstar. I used water, rather than Sealing Gel with the green liner to see if it worked as well, and it did. The Sealing Gel liner does last longer, but that’s is its purpose.

I also wore a red smokey eye with Black Garnet and Candy Apple Red. This did amazing things for my eyes. Looking back, I don’t like the pink lips, I wish I had taken these photos with a nude lip!!

blackgarnetx

Overall, I’m very happy with these shadows. The color payoff is amazing, they blend great, and the price is good. Every batch is made to order, so allow extra time for processing. My items were out in 5 days and shipped in 2, which is not bad at all. I’ve had longer processing times on orders from other companies!

If you haven’t tried these, you should. I will be trying more of their products in the future.

Questions, comments… Come see me on Facebook and Twitter!

4 thoughts on “Review: Star Crushed Minerals Eyeshadow

  1. Oh so pigmented and pretty! Checking them out 🙂 You should do something dramatic with that dark royal navy blue 😀 it’s to pretty to not be used all

Leave a Reply

