Review: Too Faced Chocolate Bar

Reviews

This is the first Too Faced product I’ve ever used, I picked this up when I returned the Marc Jacobs Lolita palette. (Click here to be taken to that review) I was going to replace it with a Naked 2, but I really wanted to try something new. I’ve seen this palette in a few videos, and I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about their products. So here we go!

CBarFeat

This palette is made with Cocoa Powder and based on the Chocolate Soleil Bronzers. All of the companies Chocolate products were born because the Co-Founder had the idea to use Cocoa powder in cosmetics after having a Chocolate Facial. I personally think that is pretty awesome!!!

It absolutely smells like chocolate when you open it, which is sort of strange for me because I keep wanting to eat it! >:) I’ve also found that as I walk around with these shadows on I can smell them, which is even more strange because I keep getting random dessert smells that make me hungry!

Cbar

The packaging is so cute I could die. It’s in a tin that looks like a candy bar. While it is cute, it’s not really strong. You can squeeze it and it gives, I think it would crush very easily, it also has a magnet closure that’s not very strong at all. I’m gonna say not really travel friendly, unless secured.

These shadows do have names, but are only featured on the removable slip cover inside the palette, and on the back of the box it comes in. Honestly you could cut the section off the back of the box and tape it to the back of the palette if you really needed to know the names of each color! Or keep the slip cover, I stuck mine in the frame of my vanity mirror.

Cbar Dual

Inside this candy bar are 16 shadows, 14 regular sized colors, both matte and shimmer, and 2 double sized highlight colors, (genius) one matte and one shimmer. The color options are wonderful, this is a natural palette but with more that just browns. I also really enjoy how the two sides of the palette are sort of their own smaller palettes. I’m not sure if they intended it to be this way, but its neat.

Chocolate Bar Swatches

The above swatch is on my forearm, with no primer. These shadows last pretty long, but if you’re like me and you have semi-hooded eyes you will want to use a primer, as I have had some creasing with these. I think the best part for me is that the glitter shades retain their glitter even after blending. I noticed this the first time I use Gilded Ganache in my crease with a MAC 217. Usually the flecks of glitter get brushed off as fallout…. but not with these! They actually have very little fallout, which is fantastic!

CbarlookThis also came with a little booklet with three “How To” looks. This is the most dramatic of the three, and uses all of the shimmer and glitter shades. This look had a little too many shimmer shades for my eyelids, but I still love it!

There is only one color I don’t care for, and that is Champagne Truffle. It’s a SUPER shimmery highlight shade and it accentuates my skin texture and wrinkles. I did use it in the above photo, but I added White Chocolate on top to calm the shimmer down.

Lineruse

Overall I am very pleased with this purchase. I love this palette, and its amazing smells. I would re-purchase this, and I will be trying more Too Faced products in the future!

I paid $49 for this at Sephora, which breaks down to about $3 per shadow.

What do you think, have you tried this palette yet?

Questions, Comments, Requests?? Hit me up on Facebook and Twitter!

XOXO

Ingredients:

Net Weight:

14 Eye Shadows, each Net Wt. 0.95 g / 0.03 Oz. Total Net Wt. 13.3 g / 0.42 Oz., 2 Eye Shadows each Net Wt. 2.8 g / 0.10 Oz. Total Net Wt. 5.6 g / 0.20 Oz.

 Cherry Cordial, Crème Brulee, Hazelnut, Milk Chocolate, Triple Fudge, White Chocolate

Talc, Mica, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Zinc Stearate, Sodium Saccharin, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Phenoxyethanol, Polyethylene, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Silica, Sorbic Acid, Vanillin, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Fruit Powder, Boron Nitride. May Contain/Peut Contenir/(+/-): Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Copper Powder (CI 77400), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Bronze Powder (CI 77400), Manganese Violet (CI 77742).

Amaretto, Black Forest Truffle, Champagne Truffle, Haute Chocolate, Salted Caramel, Semi-Sweet, Strawberry Bon Bon

Talc, Mica, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Zinc Stearate, Sodium Saccharin, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Polyethylene, Sorbic Acid, Vanillin, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Fruit Powder, Tin Oxide, Boron Nitride, Carmine (CI 75470). May Contain/Peut Contenir/(+/-): Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Copper Powder (CI 77400), Ferric Ferrocyanide (CI 77510), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140) Aluminum Powder (CI 77000).

Candied Violet, Gilded Ganache, Marzipan

Mica, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Talc, Zinc Stearate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Sodium Saccharin, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Silica, Boron Nitride, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Polyethylene, Sorbic Acid, Vanillin, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Fruit Powder, Tin Oxide , Carmine (CI 75470). May Contain/Peut Contenir/(+/-): Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Ferric Ferrocyanide (CI 77510), Bronze Powder (CI 77400).

24 thoughts on “Review: Too Faced Chocolate Bar

  1. Great review! I can smell the chocolate now. I’ve put cocoa powder in the cosmetics i’ve made and lotion I make has cocoa butter in it. To-die-for. I smell like chocolate! Love that. This sounds great. My daughter loves Too Faced. I’m going to tell her about this! Thank you 😀

  2. Bigger highlight colors was a great idea from them! The colors are all beautiful *_* I would reach out for Black Forest Truffle, Strawberry Bon Bon & Champagne Truffle for first! ^_^

    1. It’s taken me some time to get used to them, I use my Naked 1 and Smoked SO often that using another nude palette was strange, but they look so natural and gorgeous… I really love it. Salted Caramel is such a good crease blender!!

  3. I absolutely LOVE this post! I semi-recently bought my first Too Faced pallet from http://www.hsn.com (Natural Eye Shadow Collection with a bonus tube of primer). I haven’t used it yet, but I plan to soon. I am 100% a fan of the more natural looking eye shadow colors and have been soooo bored with mainly sticking to browns. I love that this pallet has an entire range of colors (outside of brown) that still qualify as natural colors. $49 is expensive, for my own taste, but I’m putting this on my wish-list to purchase; hopefully with a future coupon! 🙂

    1. It is a lot of money to put out in one go, but with the average at about $3 per shadow it really is a good price. it also has 4 more colors than the Naked palettes, and is cheaper. It’s a good price!

  4. You can do so much with it and it smells like CHOCOLATE, it’s like god would have made it. 😀 I love what you have been doing with it and you know what? I like this one better than any of the Nakeds. Really think there should be more fuss around this than the UD ones

  5. The packaging is so cute & they smell like chocolate? ! Also the names are awesome! This palette looks delicious 😉

  6. Ahhhh it looks so pretty! I’ve been thinking about buying this palette forever. Have you seen the Stila bronzer that looks like a chocolate bar too? I bought that one just because it looked so cute 😄

  7. I got this one over Christmas and I love it. I’ve only used it a few times because by habit I grab my naked palette and ‘m just a little intimidated by it. I love too faced products and their bronzer is absolutely amazing. I’m probably going after a blush next, one of the heart shaped ones for Valentines day. I love the look you used 🙂

Leave a Reply

