Versus: Maybelline Baby Skin & Benefit the POREfessional

Reviews, Versus

I’ve been using the POREfessional for a while now, so when Baby Skin launched I really wanted to try it out. I have pretty noticeable pores, some fine lines, and wrinkles from making angry faces all the time! >:)

DSC_002984

If you’re considering purchasing one of these items; Please remember that everyone’s face is different, and nothing ever works the same on everyone. With that being said let’s get started!

Both products are silicone based primers, meant to hide pores, mattify, and smooth the skins texture. One shade fits all, can be used under or over makeup.

Packaging:
As you can see above they are very similar, I don’t know why they do this.. please be different. You’re not going to trick someone into buying it because they “thought” it was the other one. The Baby Lips line has packaging in all colors, so why not be bold with this? Or muted like the Dr. Rescue Baby Lips, in soothing white with light teal words. I get very annoyed at copy cat packaging, but other than that the packaging for both is pretty boring!

Claims:
Both claim quick and easy pore coverage, which is true. It only takes a few seconds to apply either of these products. There are no long wearing claims for either, in fact the Benefit website mentions reapplication whenever needed. This time frame could be different for everyone.

Benefit gets props for using words like “minimize” and “smoother” which tell you that it’s not a miracle worker, it helps reduce the things you want to hide.

Maybelline did what everyone else does and flat out lies with words like “erase” and “poreless”. I don’t think I know a single person who actually believes that… So why do they say it? Tsk, tsk, tsk Maybelline!!

Baby Skin
“Poreless Smooth Skin Perfection! One second to smooth, poreless skin. Get mistake-proof, poreless smooth skin with Maybelline New York Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser Primer.”

POREfessional
“Quickly minimize the appearance of pores & fine lines for smoother-than-smooth skin! Apply this silky, lightweight balm alone, under or over makeup. Translucent, oil-free formula complements all skintones and helps makeup stay put. Contains a Vitamin E derivative, known to protect skin from free radicals.”

Texture:

Texture

Baby Skin:
Is clear, with the typical soft slippery silicone feeling. It applies smoothly, and feels more like a gel during and after application. The gel feeling stays around for a few minutes, feeling a little greasy.
POREfessional:
Is flesh colored, with the same silicone feeling and the same smooth application. It does have a dryer, more serum like texture. The dry texture remains after application.

Price Points:
This is a no brainer as one is drugstore and the other is high-end. There is more in the Benefit tube, but it’s about $1.40 more per gram. Being able to run to one of the two drugstores in my town to pick up Baby Skin is huge for me. I have to drive more than 25 minutes to get to my local mall that houses a Sephora and Benefit counter.

Baby Skin:
.67oz of product (18 grams)
$6.99
Price Per Gram: .39 cents

POREfessional:
.75 oz of product (21 grams)
$30.00
Price Per Gram $1.40

Results:
Considering that re-application is recommended with the more expensive option, the length of wear is of no consideration to me. This entire post is based more on the texture, application, initial results, and price points. No single blogger could tell you that either of these lasts longer than the other, or works better, because all of our faces are completely different.

mepore

I find that they both do a decent job of smoothing the skin’s texture, however neither are miracle workers. They didn’t so much hide my pores and fine lines,  they just took some of the depth out.

I used hubby for this post as well, since he has oily skin. You should also note that these products are great for men, since they show no signs of being on the skin, but provide a smoothing effect. (thank you babe, for letting me show close-ups of your pores)

hubspore

I’m going to make a suggestion for anyone who is considering buying either of these: Try them first. Get a sample of POREfessional, and skip a Starbucks one day and buy Baby Skin (or get a sample from a friend).

Personally, I prefer the feeling of Baby Skin. It leaves me feeling soft, whereas the POREfessional leaves a dry feeling that I don’t care for. Benefit wins the advertisting game with its honest wording choices.

Do you use either of these products? Let me know how you feel about them below!

xoxo

Baby Skin Ingredients:
DIMETHICONE DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER STEARYL HEPTANOATE CAPRYLYL GLYCOL SILICA SILYLATE PROPYLENE GLYCOL PENTAERYTHRITYL TETRAISOSTEARATE PRUNUS CERASUS EXTRACT / BITTER CHERRY EXTRACT [+/- MAY CONTAIN / PEUT CONTENIR CI 73360 / RED 30 CI 77492 / IRON OXIDES

POREfessional Ingredients:
CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, DIMETHICONE, DIMETHICONE/VINYL, DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, ISONONYL,ISONONANOTE, ISIICA, SIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, ISODODECANE, PHENOXYETHANOL, POLYMETHYL METHACRYLATE, TITANIUM DIOXIDE (CI 77891), CYCLOHEXASILOXANE, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE,FRAGRANCE (PARFUME), MICA, IRON OXIDES (CI 77492), LIMONENE, IRON ONIDES (CI 77491) IRON OXIDES (CI 77499) TRIETHOXYCAPRYLYLSILANE, BHT.

33 thoughts on “Versus: Maybelline Baby Skin & Benefit the POREfessional

  1. I don’t have any intentions buying either of these products, but this was such a great review hun! I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you today <3<3<3

    1. As Llewsoba’s large pored, oily skinned test mule up there, I can say I didn’t really notice any cakiness. Honestly, they both reminded me of lightweight sunscreen in the texture department. Smooth and dry but not flaky.

  2. I really want to try the Baby Skin one now! I know nothing is a miracle worker but even a bit better than my Laura Mercier garbage is ok with me 😀

  3. Very interesting. From your photos, I would actually say that it looks as though the Maybelline Baby Skin was more effective! And a fraction of the cost – holy cow! I’m glad I read this review as I was considering both products. So, thanks! 🙂
    – Michelle

    1. You’re welcome, I’m glad it was helpful to you. Baby Skin actually works better on my skin, and POREfession worked better on hubs! Texture of product and skin makes all the difference!

  4. I’ve actually never used either of these products. I was never too attracted to the Baby Skin once I saw it was more of a silicone texture. I’ve been feeling meh about that texture lately with my oily skin. And I’ve heard all sorts of things about the Porefessional but just haven’t wanted to dish out 30 bucks! My pores are my most obnoxious skin problem at this time so it would be cool to find something that could help. But you’re right, getting a sample seems like a good idea 🙂

    1. The Porefessional has a silicone texture as well. The best part is there are a ton of these products out right now.

      I just finished my tube of Porefessional, it does last quite a while! I hope you find something that works for you!

  5. I love the way you review certain products! So rich in content and honest. I’m glad I was able to see your page (whereas I am exactly looking for ‘Porefessional VS BabySkin’ review). =) Thank you for sharing your thoughts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

