My New Favorite Makeup Remover

DIY

If you read my blog regularly, you know that I have dry skin…. and its a huge pain in my ass! I’ve been doing some research into more natural, beauty items, to help me swap out chemicals wherever I can. No I’m not going 100% natural, doctor hating crazy woman (no offense if you are).. I just think a happy medium is nice.

grossWhat makes this so great for me?

  • All natural
  • Easy to find
  • Cost effective (depends on your preference)
  • Removes makeup as, or more effectively than actual makeup remover
  • DOESNT DRY MY SKIN OUT AT ALL!!!!

So what the hell am I talking about???
EVOO makeup remover

Olive Oil….

Yes, the kind you cook with! Before you click off this page and call me bat shit crazy, take a second and Google Cleansing Oil. There are a ton, on top of that MAC does one, with “oils of olive fruit”.

Oh and did I mention that you can eat it?  I’m pretty comfortable with putting something I can eat on my face, that’s just me though.

I’ve taken to using this to rather than normal products because I’m trying to take out unnecessary steps that contribute to my dryness. That and I’m tired of rubbing things into my face with 25 letter, 7 syllable names. They should be cleansing my face, not pickling it.

I do still wash my face with a gentle cleanser afterwards (I’ve been using the Neutrogena Transparent Facial Bar, which is only $2.69 at Walmart), because I don’t feel the need to leave the extra oil on my face.

This is really great for taking off your eye makeup since it literally melts off everything with minimal pulling, tugging, rubbing, and other actions that cause wrinkles! It does not burn my eyes, but I have heard that for some people it can cause some irritation. So remember that if you try this!

I keep a small bottle in the cabinet of my makeup room, (olive oil should be kept in a cool, dark place to avoid spoiling) and I put it on a cotton square just like you would do with any other remover. Sometimes I put it in my hand and go straight to my face.

removal

There are plenty of articles around about the benefits of using Olive Oil as a beauty item, however there is also an equal amount of negative articles about why not to. Sadly, today you can’t really believe anyone, because everyone is out for their own agenda or personal gain. So if this seems like something you would be interested in, please do your homework and pay attention to your skin!! 

I have been removing my makeup with the same Olive Oil that’s in my kitchen, for 3 weeks now with no ill effects! No extra breakouts, (yes even my dry crusty self breaks out), and no eye irritation! I’m very pleased with the state my skin is currently in, I’m actually seeing a reduction in the redness, and dry patches that I’m going to credit to this since it’s the only thing I’ve changed. The money I’m saving on my facial cleansing routine isn’t bad either!

Please remember that everyone’s face is different, and what works for some may not work for others.

Have you tried Olive Oil as a makeup remover before, and if not…. would you???

While I’m on the topic of dry skin people problems, I have a link to a post on the HSN blogs “6 Must Read Tips for Healthy Winter Hair” <-clickable. (I promise it’s a real link, and no I don’t get paid if you click it. :p) I have dry EVERYTHING all year round, so I do some of the things on this list all year. Mostly the skipping shampoo days, I only wash my hair maybe twice a week.

Thanks for reading, and don’t forget to come by and say “hey” on Facebook and Twitter!!!

20 thoughts on “My New Favorite Makeup Remover

  1. Great post and great idea! I haven’t used olive oil for anything but I do have some multi purpose grape seed and coconut oils hanging around. You’re so right, there are so many positives and negatives out there based on personal agendas so just figure out what’s best for you 🙂

  2. I’ve heard about using oils to remove makeup, but I haven’t tried it yet. I can see how this works awesome with your dry skin, mine is a combination skin so I’m afraid it might leave me too greasy, but I’m gonna have to try it to find out! I have some olive oil bottles standing around that are expired, enough to not put in my food but not gone bad or disgusting. I’d use it on my hair, but my hair hates oils unfortunately. By the way I really love your before makeup here *-* That bright lipstick suits you so well! Is it really a nice bright color or is the lighting that makes it seem this way? Xxxx hun

    1. It was a bright red, with a shiny gloss over it.. and it was really bright in front of the window when I took that picture.

      I want to hear if it works for you, I wash it off because I don’t want to be super greasy either.

  3. I did! Now I use the sos oil I have for my skin also, but I used it for getting rid of the remeining mascara at the roots of my lashes, no makeup remover handles that like olive oil 😀

  4. Hell yeah! I love using oil to remove my eye makeup 🙂 I’ve been using it for years actually. I usually use baby oil, but I think I’ll switch to olive oil or grapeseed oil when I run out.

  5. I absolutely love your writing style! Clever, witty, and honest; perfect combination 🙂 I would have NEVER in a million years thought to use olive oil as a makeup remover. I’ve been using my face wipes that I’ve scored from monthly beauty subscriptions, but those are running out and DO dry my face. I always wash my face afterwards, but it’s nice to get the gunk off before I apply a cleanser. I am definitely going to give this a try, I’m just nervous about it being too oily; but I’m always willing to try anything once! 🙂 Thanks for the suggestion and the awesome blog post! ❤

    1. 🙂

      I look forward to hearing how it works for you. I haven’t had any oily patches, but I do get a soft, plump feeling afterwards.

      Some people towel it off with warm water, I prefer to wash my face after.. just like I would with any makeup remover.

      I can’t wait to hear about it!!

  6. Woo, I love oil makeup remover! I used to use olive oil, but the smell started bothering me, so now I’m using coconut oil. Smell much better and I’m pretty sure it’s even made my eyelashes grow longer from removing my eye makeup 😀

Leave a Reply

