DIY: Popcorn Lip Scrub

DIY

I recently purchased a lip scrub from a very popular company, and by the time I got it home I felt like an idiot for spending $10.00 on a pot of sugar. I didn’t even get the flavor I wanted, because it had not arrived in their last shipment. Thankfully, it inspired me to create my own……

Final

One of the reasons I wanted to buy their scrub was for the flavor, I wanted popcorn but settled for Bubble Gum. I can see why people buy these things, “Oh I can’t make those flavors at home!!”…. but that’s just a crock of sh#t!! If you stop by the baking aisle in the grocery store and look at the many flavors of extract, the possibilities are endless!!

All but one of the ingredients for this recipe can be purchased at your grocery store. The glycerin can be purchased from a drug store. *See “What Is Glycerin” at the bottom of the post*

This recipe yields about 1.8oz of scrub, which might last you till the end of time… or you can give some to your friends and family (which is what I did). You can alter this recipe to make any flavor you want by just changing out the extract and removing the salt!Ingredients

Ingredients:
3 Tbsp Granulated Sugar
1/2 Tsp Coconut Oil
1/4 Tsp Sea Salt
1/2 Tsp Glycerin
1/2 Tsp Imitation Butter Flavor
Optional yellow coloring

Stir together until blended!

These would make really great homemade gifts, a fun rainy day project, or an opportunity to try and find new and interesting flavors. I considered garlic after chopping some for dinner, it is one of my favorite things and I do love the smell. I scratched that idea shortly after I realized how bizarre it sounded, and that a garlic lip scrub would probably be spicy and burn the crap out of my lips!

Once I got this recipe perfected, I ended up with a ton of scrub in 4 different flavors, which I mailed off to a pair of my fellow US bloggers to try out. I also sent them a sample of the $10 scrub that I am still angry with myself for buying, but I did put to good use !!! >:) Below are some of their comments and feedback on this scrub, as well as links to their blogs.

“More flavors, which are all on point. The consistency is better. The popcorn scrub reminds me of movie theater popcorn! It is really tasty. The Lush one you sent me was all clumpy, but yours were nice and smooth.”
-Etta from Etta’s Threads

“I Do like the Lush one but would I pay that much for that one over one of your home-made ones? NO WAY! Obviously they textures look different, but they are both crumbly and have the same exfoliating (roughness) I like your popcorn one the best actually (I didn’t think I would) It has great flavor and adds the best moisturization.”
-Kristina from The Feminine Files

Thank you ladies for being my mini focus group, your input has been super helpful!! ❤
I owe this post to my awesome husband, as he is the one who found the flavoring for me!

I hope you found this post helpful and will consider making lip scrubs at home! If you do try this recipe, please stop by Facebook and Twitter and let me know how you liked it!!

xoxo

What Is Glycerin??
Also called glycerol or glycerine; it is present in all natural lipids (fats), whether animal or vegetable. It can be derived from natural substances by hydrolysis of fats and by fermentation of sugars. It can also be synthetically manufactured. Whether natural or synthetic, glycerin is a humectant and extremely hygroscopic, meaning it readily absorbs water from other sources. So, in part, glycerin works because of its ability to attract water from the environment and from the lower layers of skin (dermis) increasing the amount of water in the surface layers of skin. Another aspect of glycerin’s benefit is that it is a skin-identical ingredient, meaning it is a substance found naturally in skin. In that respect it is one of the many substances in skin that help maintain the outer barrier and prevent dryness or scaling.

18 thoughts on “DIY: Popcorn Lip Scrub

  1. I’m not into scrubs (cause I’m a lazyass) but you definitely helped out a lot of ladies here (and who knows maybe the future-less-lazyass-me as well 😀 ) You did an amazing job babe *highfive*

  2. I am a lip scrub and balm junkie, all for the flavor. I will have to give this a try…one day LOL

  3. Say whaaaaaaaaat woman you are a genius! You made your own popcorn scrub, amazing ❤ I have to try this and not mess it up, I love me some popcorn, I get it all the time when we're out for drinks I will surely order popcorn too 😀 and you make it look so simple

  4. I love this! DIY lip scrub is where it’s at! I’d probably just change the amounts to make less 🙂 what other flavours did you make?

      1. Yummm! Yeah I just don’t use that much haha. I swear I haven’t even used a teaspoon worth of mine yet :/

  5. I cannot WAIT to try and make this! I’d love maybe some follow up posts for other flavors / scents. I’m going to try and make it this weekend, we’ll see how it goes! 🙂

    1. That’s the great thing about this recipe, you can add any flavor you find to it!! I made 4 other flavors with just the extracts I had in my baking cabinet.

      I can’t wait to hear how it goes!!!

Leave a Reply

