Throwdown Thursday: Rafflesia Arnoldii (Corpse Flower)

Makeup, Requested, Series

My husband had the idea to “throwdown” a challenge to me and some of my blogger friends. He chose flowers for us to use as inspiration. He gave me, Rafflesia Arnoldii….

Throwdown Thursday

“Rafflesia arnoldii is a member of the genus Rafflesia. It is noted for producing the largest individual flower on earth. It has a very strong and horrible odor of decaying flesh, earning it the nickname “corpse flower”. It is endemic to the rainforests of Borneo and Sumatra.”

Yes, at my request he gave me the Corpse Flower…. because I’m a sick person and I would plant them around my house for Zombie Defense Landscaping!

100D3100264

I went quite literal with this look… because I had no freaking idea what to do with this. I didn’t know the flower was red when I asked for it. I added in the slightly evil brow, because this is a giant demon flower from hell that eats flies and smells like dead bodies. If it had brows, they would be evil brows!

I also tried to get my lashes good and clumpy, to resemble the little nubbins inside the flower!

I had fun with this, I enjoy being pushed and having to come up with something to post even if I hate it. I don’t hate this look, but I was worried about it and didn’t get it done until yesterday!

Once I have the others to link to I will put the links below. (We all live in different time zones, so I can’t say for sure when theirs will be posted!)

Mariyln: Osiria Rose
Maria: Toad Lily

Don’t forget to come say “Hey” on Facebook and Twitter!!

14 thoughts on “Throwdown Thursday: Rafflesia Arnoldii (Corpse Flower)

  1. This is so cool! Love it 🙂 I didn’t have time to do mine as I’m now back at uni, so I’m kind of struggling :/

  2. Smells like corpses? I spent the first two years of university cutting down corpses so you can plant them around your house, the smell won’t keep me away, I am so used to it! But this is for sure the strangest flower ever. I had no idea, I thought it was called like that because it looks like it was flesh peeling off or something haha. I’ll get on my look when I come back from school in the afternoon 😀 You represented the flower really well, I wanted to do something similar for mine, because it also has spots. See you later!

  3. This is gorgeous and I love how you can easily see the resemblance of the flower in your makeup. But what I love even more is the fact that your hubby gets behind your blogging passion; totally adorable and admirable!

  4. Decaying flesh flower? Can’t say i ever heard of this. But you better believe i will never forget this if there’s talk of a zombicolypse!
    Fun post!

Leave a Reply

