Review: Soleil Tan De Chanel

Reviews

Soleil De Tan
This is something I wanted to use for an extended period of time before reviewing, because the price point often puts people off more than anything else. This is clearly not a new product, but one that I believe is on a lot of peoples “wish lists”.

This product is almost always thought of as “really expensive”, “too pricey”. I’ve noticed that when it’s used in YouTube videos its regarded as prohibitively costly and generally brings out the haters. Of course, if you look at the value per package, the picture changes entirely! For my wonderful readers who, I know, are interested in the facts, click the link to see my price breakdown by grams, compared to other brands. (Click Here To Be Taken To That Post!)

SOLEIL DE TAN: $48.00 for 30 grams (1.06 oz)

MAC Bronzing Powder: $25.00 for 10 grams (0.35 oz)

NARS Laguna: $36.00 for 7.9 grams (0.28 oz)
(Laguna has gone up $2 since I first wrote this post)

Benefit Hoola: $28.00 for 7.9 grams (0.28 oz)

This is a cream-gel, mousse product, that can be worn in any way you can think of. Under, over, contour, all over, and I guess as eyeshadow if you’re so inclined! It only comes in one shade and it can seem a bit orange, but it does blend away to a really natural, toasty color. I get a much more natural finish with this, than with a powder bronzer alone.

From the Chanel Website,
“The velvety finish of this light cream-gel bronzer leaves your skin with a beautiful sun-kissed look. Wear it on its own to enhance your complexion, or for a hint of outdoors radiance, over or under your favorite Foundation.”

Detan

The package is really large and not really travel friendly. It probably twice the size of a MAC compact, but it does wear all day, so re-application is not an issue (for me). 
detexture

For me personally, I use this after my foundation, but before any other products. I find this product is better suited as a large area bronzer rather than a smaller area, such as contour. This product is perfect for bringing the life back into your skin after foundation, but before you contour (hence the name bronzing base).

This is a perfect product for people like me who have dry skin, the less powder products I use the better my makeup wears through the day.

I have included a photo from another look, only because I wear this product every single day. I don’t think there is a post on my blog as of today that I haven’t used it in. I use this in the 3 shape, but blended and blown out in a large area, under my jaw and blended down my neck a bit.

Fringe

The only complaint I have is that this will pick up every single brush hair that sheds. When I looked at the counter sample, it was FULL of brush hair, so much I almost walked away. Now that I own this, I see how it just sucks them up and they get stuck in the top of the product. I have to be careful and keep the top layer of product cleaned off.

I use this everyday, and I will be repurchasing. I have had this pot for almost a year and haven’t even used half. It’s going to last me a long time. I do recommended going and trying a sample, since this product is either a love or hate item.

$48.00
1.06 oz

I hope you find this review and the accompanying price breakdown helpful.
xoxo

20 thoughts on “Review: Soleil Tan De Chanel

  1. Good review. I absolutely love the Chanel brand; I made for first return to the Chanel counter recently. I’ll be sure to share your review with anyone who asks regarding this product. xx

  2. Yup you described it perfectly, its such a beautiful product I will be repurchasing mine too. Im glad im not the only one who has brush hairs sucked into it lol. Awesome review :)))

    1. It works really well with all the brushes I’ve used, Real Techniques Contour, MAC 109, a cheap e.l.f blush brush, and even powder brushes.

  3. This product has been on my wish list since ages! The thing is I don’t really wear bronzer so I cannot force myself into paying that much for my very first one!
    Looks flawless on you, though. ❤

    1. They do have a travel size of this. My Chanel counter has it out as a tester, but of course when I asked they didn’t have any of the smaller ones. You might see if you can score one of those!

Leave a Reply

