Review: Real Techniques #301 Flat Contour (Bold Metal Collection)

Reviews

image

From Ulta and Real Techniques.com
Real Techniques Bold Metals 301 Flat Contour Brush has a dense, flattop head that creates shadows and highlights on targeted areas of face to play up your favorite features. Ideal for contouring and sculpting.

A dense head creates shadows and highlights on targeted areas of face to play up favorite features.
Softer than ever bristles, for our most luxe feel to date.
Weighted for optimal control and comfort — brushes are engineered for perfect weight distribution when tipped toward the face for use.
Refined artistry cuts offer high performance for ultimate application of makeup.

I’m a big fan of Real Techniques brushes, so I was naturally excited when this new line was released because I’m a sucker for shiny things!! I love the packaging and the finish of these brushes, they’re just flat out gorgeous. Sadly the finish does hold finger prints and tends to look dirty.
imageThe bristles are super soft synthetic fibers that feel amazing on the face, in an oval shape perfect for sculpting.
The handle is faceted to prevent roll-away, and tapered to fit in, and release from storage easier (mainly brush belts). My main issue with this brush, and the line as a whole are the ferrules. They seem a little shorter than most of my brushes, and since the original RT brushes have full length handle/ferrules, I was disappointed that these do not.

image

My general opinion was these contour brushes, like the NARS Ita brush are a gimmick, and I didn’t think I would be excited about this one. Having used it, I completely understand the hype. This brush cuts my contour time in half, I lay the stripe, blend, and I’m done. It works beautifully, feels amazing, and is an all around fantastic brush. Worth the slightly higher price tag, and a must for contour lovers.
image

For help with learning how to use this brush, click here for the Real Techniques how-to video.

image

Are you interested in this brush, and the new brush line? Comment below!
$25.99
Exclusively at Ulta

10 thoughts on “Review: Real Techniques #301 Flat Contour (Bold Metal Collection)

  1. That brush is a work of art! I love the rose gold–it’s gorgeous. I have a set of It Cosmetics brushes and they have a similar finish on the handle that holds on to finger prints. It doesn’t bother me too much, though, as long as the brushes perform well.

  2. That’s a really beautiful brush! I still haven’t dived into getting a contour brush, since I just use RT Miracle Complexion Sponge for foundation+contour+highlighting.. But I am looking to try one out 🙂

  3. I was so glad to see a review of this brush. First of all, its completely gorgeous, but I was more curious about how it actually did with contouring. Looks like I’ll be picking this one up! Thanks for posting this review!

  4. Although I have the NARS Ita brush, the rose gold handle of this is so pretty I’m tempted to buy it! I love my other RT brushes, so I’m sure this one is just as amazing. Thanks for the review! 🙂

  5. Quite pricey, but I think it’s worth it if you use it often, I don’t know if people who contour only for weddings and such events would get a good use out of it (unless you are a makeup artist, then you most certainly need it). But I am most mesmerized by the look. OMG that colour! It looks amazing 😀 Enjoy it love xx

Leave a Reply

